815.633.1500 | 9572 Forest Hills Road, Loves Park, Il 61111 | Email
Next Event in:
+ +
1 day
7 hours
17 minutes
55 seconds


By Steve Reeves – Intensity levels at Rockford Speedway on the aptly named Wild Wednesday Beach Party Night, equaled tidal wave proportions. Nick Schmidt roasted the Bandits, Rich Schinderling, Jr was top surfer in the RoadRunner Super Summer Series, and Destiny Genore made the Winged Women on Wheels look like her own Roman chariot race. The party was crashed by a strong weather pattern from the Pacific coast direction however, hitting the high banked 1/4 mile facility like a hurricane, and the night was cut short. Including the three features, qualifying, and prelims; the occasion was pushed along and championship points were paid for seven total events on the sweltering evening though.

Genore’s pink #99 gridded the Winged Women on Wheels event from the sixth position. Fellow third row starter Cassidy Frisch and her took to passing the competition at the very drop of the green flag. Genore was in the top spot by the end of the very first lap. Frisch had solid control of the runner-up spot for the entirety of the race. On the last circuit she closed right on the rear of Genore, but Frisch’s #63 stumbled completing the third and fourth corners, and the victory was destined for Genore. Nicole Mueller, from Muskego, Wis; sailed in, but was un-able to nose her #12 ahead of Frisch at the line and settled for third. Genore and Frisch sit just four points apart in the season’s rankings.

The Bandit division has quickly become known for opening lap excitements. That trend continued, as a couple early stoppages and wipe-outs accelerated an increased level of attrition for the 4-cylinder front-wheel-drive slightly modified racers. After many cars were rescued by the track safety crew and tow-truck lifeguards; Duane Lounsbury, Nick Schmidt, and Kelsey Dobbs volleyed around the sandy carnage to pull ahead of the remaining field by the race mid-point. While they were checked out from the crowd, there was no shortage of action; their cars bouncing off one another at times and dodged the abiding lapped cars at others. Schmidt showed the strength of his Nissan the last few laps and made his way under Lounsbury for the convincing victory. Lounsbury and Dobbs’ Hondas were alright in second and third; and the two sit atop the 2017 Bandit tally.

Schinderling, Jr, started on the pole, and led the RoadRunner Super Summer Series main event from the green. Point leader Josh Thiering lined up behind Rich, but secured second running early. As, what appeared to be a tropical storm approached, track officials informed the feature was going to be complete at the half-way mark. Thiering made efforts on the low line, but Schinderling, Jr rode the high wave to the win. Kevin Memoli was able to record an official third place result.

Tomorrow, Saturday night July 22, is set to be a night of pomp and circumstance at Rockford Speedway with the official celebration of our 70th Anniversary! Fans can expect several specials from the moment they walk through the gate until the moment they leave. Classic Cars and Retro Memorabilia will be display as well as a special appearance from the DOC Drift Racers. At the end of the on-track action, there will be a HUGE Fireworks Display. The track’s four ‘core’ divisions; Stanley Steemer NASCAR Late Models, Bargain Hunter Sportsman, Miller Lite American Short Trackers and Kickstart Roadrunners; will complete full racing programs. Grandstands open at 5 PM, with qualifying at 5:55 PM and racing at 7:07 PM. For more information on this Saturday night’s 70th Anniversary Celebration or to get your tickets in advance, please visit rockfordspeedway.com or call 815-633-1500.


Sat July 22 7:07 pm- 70th Anniversary Night with LM, Sp, AST, RR and Fireworks
Wed July 26 7:27 pm- Equipment Depot Wild Wednesday
Sat July 29 7:07 pm- Must See Racing Sprint Car Spectacular plus AST, RR, Vintage
Wed Aug 2 7:27 pm- Wild Wednesday Trucker Night
Sat Aug 5 7:07 pm- Kar Korner presents the World Famous Figure 8 Trailer Race
Wed Aug 9 7:27 pm- Wild Wednesday Championship Night
Sat Aug 12 7:07 pm- Cintas Kids Night (Kids 11 & under FREE plus Kids Bike Races and The Great Bike Giveaway)

Rockford Speedway Results from 07.19.17


A-Main 01 — 1. Nick Schmidt, Watertown, Wis; 2. Duane Lounsbury, Beloit, Wis; 3. Kelsey Dobbs, Beloit, Wis; 4. Dan Schmeissing, Manhattan; 5. Bobby Frisch, Beloit, Wis; 6. Jeff Parisot, Machesney Park; 7. Nicole Mueller, Muskego, Wis; 8. Bart Brockman, Rockford; 9. Gary Ballard, Beloit, Wis; 10. Ben Rucker, Beloit, Wis; 11. Mike Mahurin, Rockford; 12. Todd Snow, Rockford; 13. Matthew Schewe, Durand; 14. Terry Ciano, Jr., Janesville, Wis; 15. Charlie Frisch, Beloit, Wis; 16. David Cooter, Jr, Machesney Park; 17. Jeremiah Gusk, Loves Park; 18. Mike Misch, Rochelle; 19. Ashley Matts, Rockford; 20. Destiny Genore, Beloit, Wis.

Time Trial — 1. Nick Schmidt, Watertown, Wis; 2. Destiny Genore, Beloit, Wis; 3. Charlie Frisch, Beloit, Wis; 4. Kelsey Dobbs, Beloit, Wis; 5. Dan Schmeissing, Manhattan; 6. Todd Snow, Rockford; 7. Jeff Parisot, Machesney Park; 8. Terry Ciano, Jr., Janesville, Wis; 9. Duane Lounsbury, Beloit, Wis; 10. Bart Brockman, Rockford; 11. Bobby Frisch, Beloit, Wis; 12. Nicole Mueller, Muskego, Wis; 13. Ashley Matts, Rockford; 14. Mike Misch, Rochelle; 15. David Cooter, Jr, Machesney Park; 16. Ben Rucker, Beloit, Wis; 17. Matthew Schewe, Durand; 18. Dan Sander, Roscoe; 19. Gary Ballard, Beloit, Wis; 20. Jeremiah Gusk, Loves Park; 21. Mike Mahurin, Rockford.

Co-Lin Metals Fabricating Fast Dash — 1. Todd Snow, Rockford; 2. Nick Schmidt, Watertown, Wis; 3. Charlie Frisch, Beloit, Wis; 4. Destiny Genore, Beloit, Wis; 5. Dan Schmeissing, Manhattan; 6. Kelsey Dobbs, Beloit, Wis.

RoadRunner Super Summer Series

A-Main 01 — 1. Rich Schinderling, Jr, Winnebago; 2. Josh Thiering, South Beloit; 3. Kevin Memoli, Geneva; 4. Dave Lumsden, Jr., Rockford; 5. Chad Lounsbury, Beloit, Wis; 6. Hope Smith, South Beloit; 7. Nick Schneider, Rockton; 8. Curt Nighswonger, Machesney Park.

Heat 01 — 1. Chad Lounsbury, Beloit, Wis; 2. Josh Thiering, South Beloit; 3. Kevin Memoli, Geneva; 4. Rich Schinderling, Jr, Winnebago; 5. Dave Lumsden, Jr., Rockford; 6. Hope Smith, South Beloit; 7. Nick Schneider,

Time Trial — 1. Dave Lumsden, Jr., Rockford; 2. Josh Thiering, South Beloit; 3. Chad Lounsbury, Beloit, Wis; 4. Kevin Memoli, Geneva; 5. Rich Schinderling, Jr, Winnebago; 6. Nick Schneider, Rockton; 7. Hope Smith, South Beloit; 8. Curt Nighswonger, Machesney Park.

Co-Lin Metals Fabricating Fast Dash — 1. Kevin Memoli, Geneva; 2. Rich Schinderling, Jr, Winnebago; 3. Chad Lounsbury, Beloit, Wis; 4. Dave Lumsden, Jr., Rockford; 5. Josh Thiering, South Beloit; 6. Nick Schneider, Rockton.

Winged Women on Wheels

A-Main 01 — 1. Destiny Genore, Beloit, Wis; 2. Cassidy Frisch, Beloit, Wis; 3. Nicole Mueller, Muskego, Wis; 4. Ashley Matts, Rockford; 5. Nichole Crane, Machesney Park; 6. Lilly Allen, Genoa.

About Rockford Speedway

Since the inaugural season in 1948, the high-banked quarter mile oval has been tabbed as “Mid-America’s Finest Racetrack.” Rich in racing tradition, this reputation has been well earned through hosting major events like the granddaddy of all short track post season events, the National Short Track Championships. More

Follow Us

© 2005-2018 Rockford Speedway - All rights reserved.