815.633.1500 | 9572 Forest Hills Road, Loves Park, Il 61111 | Email
Next Event in:
+ +
1 day
7 hours
21 minutes
12 seconds


By: Eric Huenefeld

Saturday afternoon’s Stone and Double T 200 was a back and forth affair, featuring multiple lead changes and plot twists at nearly every turn.

When the checkered flag flew, Caleb Shultis stood in victory lane, victorious for the first time in ten tries at Rockford Speedway. The Stockton Illinois native took the win after inheriting the lead from Kyle Stark, who fought issues under the hood of his racer for much of the second half of the event.

Shultis and Stark traded the lead for a majority of the 200 laps. Stark was first of the pair to lead, taking the top spot at lap 25. Shultis, who ran a steady race throughout the day, then slid into the lead at lap 50. The two drivers then swapped the lead for the remainder of the day, and seemed to be destined for a one-on-one race for the win with 80 laps remaining. However, near lap 125, Shultis tangled with a lapped car and then made frontal contact with a tire barrier. Shultis quickly stomped on the gas and rejoined the field, stayed in contention. The eventual winner reclaimed the lead with under 50 laps to go, when Stark’s car began to slow.

Shultis ended the race as the only driver on the lead lap, finishing ahead of former race winner Jay Orr, who claimed second. Devon Dixon came home in third, while last October’s Goblin 250 winner Bob Bertolozzi finished fourth. Rick Zifko rounded out the top five.

2014 Stone and Double T 200 Results

1. Caleb Shultis, Stockton; 2. Jay Orr, South Milwaukee, Wis; 3. Devon Dixon, Janesville, Wis; 4. Bob Bertolozzi, Rock Falls; 5. Rick Zifko, Aurora; 6. Josh Nelms, Lockport; 7. Dale Markham, Maple Park; 8. Kyle Stark, Waterloo, Wis; 9. Seth Pippel, Rockford; 10. Tyler Griswold, Pontiac; 11. Brian Hillringhouse, South Milwaukee, Wis; 12. Joe Labombarbe, Aurora; 13. Tyler Wheaton, Lansing; 14. Mark Ross, Jr, Highland, Ind.; 15. Scott Vetter, Union; 16. Lenny Schlafke, Sheboygan, Wis; 17. Justin Pearson, Belvidere; 18. Douglas Finnern, Des Plaines; 19. Melissa Keuhs, Hobart, Ind.; 20. Mitch Moag, Oswego; 21. Jim Klingel, Aurora; 22. Alan Bekielewski, Roscoe; 23. Joey Fortune, Sterling; 24. David Prince, Rockford; 25. Troy Boss, Rock Falls; 26. Blake Andrus, Rockford; 27. Ryan Lagestee, Schererville, Ind.; 28. Erik Nevoso, Twin Lakes, Wis; 29. David Isbell, Rockford; 30. Adrian Roscelli, Dekalb; 31. Steve Warren, Portage, Ind.; 32. Jeff Hooker, Sycamore; 33. Mike Cunz, Cortland; 34. Eddie Brown, Sandwich; 35. Peter Hayes, Romeoville; 36. Justin Colley, Aurora; 37. Ed Gutzeit, Des Plaines; 38. Jason Bonsky, Freeport; 39. David Keuhs, Hobart, Ind.; 40. Jacob Adolphson, Rockford; 41. Jason Dull, Machesney Park; 42. Ethan Diesing, Rockford; 43. Ted Diangikes, Montgomery; 44. Ryan Gilliam, Matteson; 45. Chad Crawford, Rock Falls; 46. Mike Patterson, Freeport; 47. Trevor Tichy, Plainfield; 48. David Demeny, Janesville, Wis; 49. Tom Happ, Alsip; 50. Doss Shultis, Elizabeth

About Rockford Speedway

Since the inaugural season in 1948, the high-banked quarter mile oval has been tabbed as “Mid-America’s Finest Racetrack.” Rich in racing tradition, this reputation has been well earned through hosting major events like the granddaddy of all short track post season events, the National Short Track Championships. More

Follow Us

© 2005-2018 Rockford Speedway - All rights reserved.